Semester One Sporting Schools funding is now open!

first_imgRegister and lodge your funding application today to get your students active, engaged and having fun! Sporting Schools is a $100 million Australian Government initiative aiming to get children healthy and active, before, during and after school. Sporting Schools is all about fostering a lifelong interest in sport among Australian children. Its key purpose is to encourage more children to do more sport-based activities, and empower schools to help them do that. Schools that are registered with Sporting Schools can: –       Access over 30 National Sporting Organisation (NSO) programmes delivered by endorsed coaches –       Support health and physical education outcomes that complement the school curriculum –       Access user-friendly sports based resources and professional development opportunities –       Design programmes that create important links between your school, sport and your local community  The Sporting Schools programme helps students’ foster healthy and active living habits and improves a child’s academic, health and social outcomes. Students who participate in Sporting Schools can benefit from: –       Better health and fitness, contributing to long-term health benefits –       Enhanced social and emotional wellbeing, cognitive functions, and improved fundamental movement skills –       Building positive relationships amongst their school peers. Term One funding applications are open until Friday, 4 March 2016. Term Two will remain open until Friday, 27 May 2016. Register your school and complete the grant application via the Sporting Schools website at Files34323_ss_semester_1_2016_v1-pdfRelated LinksSporting Schoolslast_img read more

2017 Trans Tasman Award Winners

first_img@Eden_RichardsCongratulations to all of the award winners from the ultra successful 2017 Trans Tasman Series.A players’ player award and coaches’ award were given to a member of each of the Mixed Open, Men’s Open and Women’s Open teams.These awards highlight special individual performances from the past weekend, recognising those who went above and beyond to help deliver Australia a 9-0 clean sweep of the Trans Tasman Series.A dominant team display from all Australian sides meant it was hard to pick just two recipients, but after much deliberation these are the players who were adjudged to be the best and most worthy in their respective divisions.Zara Nicholls took home the players’ player award for the Mixed Open side after scoring four touchdowns in three games for Australia.The coaches’ award went to Michael Singh who was instrumental in his side’s unbeaten run, setting up a number of touchdowns and scoring three of his own.Matt Prowse starred for the Australian Men’s Open team and was rewarded, taking home the players’ player award after scoring four touchdowns over the course of the Trans Tasman Series.One of Australia’s most high profile players Pete Norman won the coaches’ award for a typically brilliant three games.The Australian Women’s Open side was perhaps the most dominant of the weekend and had many great individuals who could have been rewarded.But it was Tamika Upton who was the recipient of the players’ player award, scoring five touchdowns in her side’s three wins.Laura Peattie put together a terrific tournament and was rewarded with the coaches’ award for her efforts, with the Aussie star scoring six touchdowns in a huge individual haul.The last award for Australia to hand out was the Phil Smith Memorial Medal.  Phil was one of the founding members and the first Life Member of Touch Football Australia.This award was first instigated in 2007 to recognise Phil’s vision to elite touch football in Australia.It is voted on by every member of the Australian Touring Party and awarded to the person they think has shown the most passion, enthusiasm, dedication, commitment and Australian spirit during the 2017 Trans Tasman Series.It was award to Australian Mixed Open coach Mick Lovett, a just reward for all his efforts this campaign.Award winnersMixed Open awards: Players’ player: Zara Nicholas Coaches’ award: Michael Singh Men’s Open awards: Players’ player: Matt Prowse Coaches’ award: Pete Norman Women’s Open awards: Players’ player: Tamika Upton Coaches’ award: Laura Peattie Phil Smith Memorial Medal: Mick LovettRelated LinksAward Winnerslast_img read more